RANCHI: Campaigning for the primary part of Jharkhand meeting elections ended on Thursday. Ruling BJP is predicted to face a powerful problem from the opposition alliance of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) within the five-phase polling beginning with 13 constituencies throughout six districts.

Seats for which voting will happen on Saturday are Chatra, Gumla, Bishunpur, Lohardaga, Manika, Latehar, Panki, Daltonganj, Bishrampur, Chhatarour, Hussainabad, Garhwa and Bhawanathpur. The opposition alliance has fielded joint candidates in all these constituencies with Congress contesting six seats, JMM 4, and RJD three. BJP is attempting its luck in 12 constituencies and is supporting Vinod Kumar Singh in Hussainabad.

Sudesh Mahto-headed All Jharkhand College students Union (AJSU), which was an ally of BJP within the final meeting polls, has fielded its candidates in Lohardaga, which is its sitting seat, Hussainabad, and Chhatarpur. Shivpujan Mehta, who received from Hussainabad as a BSP nominee within the 2014 polls, is attempting to defend his seat on AJSU ticket. Former chief minister Babu Lal Marandi’s Jharkhand Vikash Morcha (JVM) is contesting the elections by itself.

JMM is main the opposition Mahagathbandhan with 43 seats whereas Congress is contesting in 31 constituencies and RJD seven. Congress’ Jharkhand unit president Rameshwar Oraon is attempting to enter the state meeting from Lohardaga. The social gathering has fielded its candidates in Paki, Bishrampur, Bhavnathpur, Manika and Daltonganj as properly. Congress’ efficiency within the first part will largely depend upon the potential of its allies to switch their votes to Congress candidates, political observers mentioned.

Also Read |  Ahmed Dahab: What Is Washare?

Former chief minister and JMM working president Hemant Soren has spent vital time campaigning for the primary part of polls. JMM has fielded its candidates in Gumla, Latehar, Garhwa and Bishunpur. RJD is contesting from Chatra, Chhatarpur and Hussainabad within the first part. Earlier than the formation of Jharkhand in 2000, Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD had loved assist base on this area in undivided Bihar.

For BJP the primary campaigners within the first part included Prime Minister Narendra Modi, dwelling minister Amit Shah and Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath. Chhattisgarh chief minister Bhupesh Baghel campaigned for the alliance candidates on Wednesday.